Datensicherung.nrw

The preliminary project

As part of the preliminary project Datensicherung.NRW (DaSi.nrw), an operating model is being developed to establish a cross-university data backup system in and for NRW. The aim is to develop the technical, organizational and process-related boundary conditions and requirements. The new operating model, based on the division of labor, is unique in this form in NRW. In close coordination, aspects are worked out for universities offering and universities receiving services, which are then incorporated into the requirements for the infrastructure products to be procured.

 

Universities absolutely need storage infrastructures in order to perform their tasks. The data to be backed up is heterogeneous. Different platforms as well as data from different disciplines pose a challenge for a modern storage infrastructure. The variety of data covers e-mails, teaching and learning materials as well as procurement and accounting, personnel data and much more. Permanent and reliable availability of all data stocks thus represents an essential building block in the context of digitization in research, teaching and administration.

 

Development of the state-wide service Datensicherung.nrw

From NRW-universities for NRW-universities

Recent damage events drastically demonstrate that it is urgently advisable not to have a structurally, technically and spatially separate backup copy. The consortium is meeting this challenge in the preliminary project Datensicherung.nrw and is developing a sustainable and up-to-date storage infrastructure as well as the corresponding service - beyond the respective university boundaries!

 

The current practice of university-internal data backup is hardly sustainable. This was the result of workshops within the consortium. On the one hand, the use cases and the system landscape of the user systems have become highly specialized, and on the other hand, the users' demands on the service quality provided go much further than before.

 

Data persistence, availability and security

There is a demand for virtually uninterrupted availability and guaranteed data persistence. This leads to the need to cover more use cases with possibly several backup products and a higher quality of service compared to the current status - a need that cannot be met in the current operating models.

 

While the technical solution is being designed and developed, the current TSM backup consortium license is to be extended for a period of 2 years as a bridging measure.  The subsequent changeover to the demanding data backup infrastructure also includes the changeover to the state-wide service Datensicherung.nrw from NRW-universities for NRW-universities.

 

Icon SucheSuche

Datensicherung.NRW

Das Vorprojekt

Im Rahmen des Vorprojektes Datensicherung.NRW (DaSi.NRW) wird ein Betriebsmodell entwickelt, um in und für NRW eine hochschulübergreifende Datensicherung aufzubauen. Dabei gilt es die technischen, organisatorischen und prozessualen Randbedingungen und Anforderungen zu erarbeiten. Das arbeitsteilige und neue Betriebsmodell ist in dieser Form einzigartig in NRW. In enger Abstimmung werden Aspekte für anbietende Hochschulen und dienstnehmende Hochschulen erarbeitet, die Eingang in die Anforderungen für die zu beschaffenden Infrastruktur-Produkte finden.

Hochschulen benötigen zwingend Speicherinfrastrukturen, um ihre Aufgaben zu erbringen. Die zu sichernden Daten sind dabei heterogen. Abweichende Plattformen, aber auch Daten aus den verschiedenen Disziplinen stellen für eine moderne Speicherinfrastruktur eine Herausforderung dar. Die Datenvielfalt deckt dabei E-Mails, Lehr- und Lernmaterialien sowie Beschaffungs- und Rechnungswesen, Personaldaten und vieles mehr ab. Permanente und verlässliche Verfügbarkeit aller Datenbestände stellt somit einen wesentlichen Baustein im Kontext der Digitalisierung in Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung dar.

Entwicklung des landesweiten Service Datensicherung.NRW

Von NRW-Hochschulen für NRW-Hochschulen

Aktuelle Schadensereignisse belegen in drastischer Form, dass von einem Verzicht auf eine strukturell, technisch und räumlich getrennte Sicherungskopie dringend abzuraten ist. Dieser Herausforderung begegnet das Konsortium im Vorprojekt Datensicherung.NRW und entwickelt eine nachhaltige und zeitgemäße Speicherinfrastruktur sowie den entsprechenden Service –über die jeweiligen Hochschulgrenzen hinaus!

Die bisherige Praxis der hochschulinternen Datensicherung ist kaum noch tragfähig. Das ergaben Workshops innerhalb des Konsortiums. Zum einen haben sich die Anwendungsfälle und die Systemlandschaft der Nutzer-Systeme in hohem Maße spezialisiert, zum anderen gehen die Anforderungen der Nutzenden an die geleistete Servicequalität wesentlich weiter als bisher.

Datenpersistenz, Verfügbarkeit und Sicherheit

Es besteht der Anspruch einer praktisch ununterbrochenen Verfügbarkeit und einer garantierten Datenpersistenz. Hierdurch leitet sich der Bedarf ab, mehr Anwendungsfälle mit evtl. mehreren Sicherungsprodukten und gegenüber dem heutigen Stand höheren Dienstgüte abzudecken - ein Bedarf, der in den bisherigen Betriebsmodellen nicht zu leisten ist.

Während der Konzeptionierung und der Erarbeitung der technischen Lösung ist parallel zur Überbrückung die Verlängerung der aktuellen Konsortiallizenz TSM Backup für den Zeitraum von 2 Jahren vorgesehen.  Die anschließende Umstellung auf die anspruchsgerechte Datensicherungsinfrastruktur beinhaltet auch die Umstellung auf den landesweiten Service Datensicherung.NRW von NRW-Hochschulen für NRW-Hochschulen.